Opening New Caledonia - Opening New Caledonia - Lesson Plans - Log Transportation
Opening New CaledoniaGo to Home PageFrancais
Exhibit NavigationPage Navigation
Reverend Runnalls
L.C. Gunn Journals and Correspondence
Prince George Maps
Northwood Documents
Northwood Maps
Forest Branch Newsletters
Blake Dickens Forestry Collection
Spacer Image
Search
Overview
Image Use
Site Map
Timeline
Lesson Plans
Glossary
Spacer Image
Explore
CB_BG

Lesson Plans
Log Transportation



Log Transportation

Grade Level

  • Grade 11 & 12

Main Idea

Before the introduction of the steam engine, log transportation was in the hands of men and animals. Various techniques were used to lug logs to a loading area or to riverbanks to be shipped to local sawmills.

Subjects Covered

  • English Language Arts 11 & 12
  • Social Studies 11
  • History 12

Objectives

Students will be able to describe:

  • Different techniques used to process and transport logs.
  • The importance of river systems.
  • Different jobs in logging operations.

Teacher Notes

No prior knowledge of log transportation is needed to successfully deliver this lesson plan.

Materials

  • "Log Transportation" handout
  • "Log Transportation Assignment" handout
  • "Group Discussion Photo" handout
  • Pencils/Pens

Vocabulary

Steam Donkey
A machine that created the steam that powered winches.
River Rat
Men who patrolled fin booms in the river
Fin Boom
directs logs in a river
Pole Road
Road constructed of logs
Pitch
A resin derived from the sap of various coniferous trees, as the pines.
Plank Road
Road constructed of logs and lumber
Choppers
Men who would chop down trees.
Hewers
Men who could square logs.

Outline

  1. Divide class in groups of 3 or 4 and distribute "Group Discussion Photo" handout to each group.
    1. Allow 10 minutes for each group analyze their thoughts of the photo.
  2. After 10 minutes have a member from each group explain to the class their findings.
  3. Once all groups have presented their findings, distribute "Log Transportation" handout to each student.
    1. Have each student skim over the reading.
  4. Ask class if their thoughts of the photo have changed after skimming over the reading.
    1. How
    2. What further information can they provide regarding the photo.
  5. Discuss with class which techniques of log transportation they think are more efficient and why?
  6. Have students choose one of the following two questions from the "Log Transportation Assignment" Handout to write a 500 word essay on

Resources

Bernsohn, Ken. Cutting up the North. Vancouver: Hancock House Publishers, 1983.

The Exploration Place. www.theexplorationplace.com

Group Discussion Photo

P996.3.84

The physical evidence of historic logging in British Columbia has, for the most part disappeared. Today one may find rotting sawdust piles or impressions of old logging roads as a sign of early logging operations or portable sawmills. As we journey through time, we are able to understand the influence of technology on the logging industry. Previous to the introduction of the steam engine, skidders, cats and logging trucks; logging techniques were dealt with by shear manpower. The processing of lumber was much more dangerous and time consuming in earlier days. It took a great amount of time to cut, trim, transport and process one tree due to the lack of technology, men and money. Men completed every aspect of logging manually, with hand held saws, horses, sleighs and rivers.

Logging was first arrived out along river banks as heavy logs could be floated to the sawmill. As forested areas along riverbanks became harvested, logging operations were forced to move farther into the woods. In order to transport logs out of the forest to the river and sawmill, various techniques where utilized.

In the late 1800's men manually cut down trees using axes and large hand held saws. A saw commonly used, known at the Cross Cut Saw, was large enough to cut the biggest of trees. This was a two-man saw and had many different styles and shapes. The name "Cross Cut" came from the design of the saw, which would cut across the grain of the wood where Whip or Rip saws where used to cut with the grain, creating lumber. A common problem encountered with sawing trees to fall included pitch filled butts on the trees. To avoid the pitch, choppers would insert planks into a notch cut into the tree about 5 feel from the ground. Men would stand on these planks to saw the tree, which would allow the men to avoid the pitch butt and cut the tree with greater ease. Even with this technique, there was still some pitch to be found in the tree, therefore men would have to drip kerosene on their saws to avoid pitch sticking to the saw. A small drop on a saw would dissolve the pitch allowing the men to continue saw a tree down.

Due to the large size of trees, choppers had to work in pairs to tackle one tree. "Choppers", men who chopped down the trees, had various techniques for falling trees. These men had to plan precisely where the tree was to fall to avoid injury to other choppers in the area. When a tree began to fall, it was dangerous for all choppers in the area. Branches above would often break off and fall to the ground, hitting the choppers below. Many men lost their lives due to careless accidents such as these. The term "Timber" originated due to the danger that lie ahead of a falling tree. Choppers would yell "Timber" to warn other choppers in the area that a tree was about to fall, allowing them to get out of harms way.


Two men bucking logs with a crosscut saw on the lake shore

After a tree had fallen, "or Buckers", men who squared logs, would square and peel logs for railway ties. In the spring and summer, peeling was easier as the sap was flowing. Bucking was a one man job, once bucked logs were prepared for skidding. Limbs were removed and the ends were shaped to have a point on the end. This technique allowed logs to be pulled through the forest with ease, where they would not get caught up on rocks or other trees.


The kitchen, dining, bunk house and office of Logging Camp #2 at Horseshoe Hill on the long road to Shelley.

Individuals would learn techniques from someone else. McConaghy states that "if you get slapped with a kick back on a tree you learn pretty quick what is right and what is wrong." One was always learning by working beside experienced men because if you where a good worker, men would work with you instead of working against you, trying to make things difficult. There were rewards for good work and men improved themselves knowing that there was return for their hard work. For example, chockermen, men who would chain up logs behind the cat, were high up on the list. Real good chokermen could ride on the arm of a cat out of the bush instead of walking.

There were two well defined methods of transporting logs out of the forest to the mill after they where cut and trimmed. These techniques consisted of the movement of logs to a collecting site and the transportation from the collection site to the mill. Moving logs to the collection site was usually a short distance, before the longer trip from the collection site to the mill was a longer distance.

Skidding logs out of the forest in the early years meant using teams of horses. Large workhorses skidded logs with a rope to the landing site. From the collection site logs were loaded on a cart the size of a small apartment, pulled by workhorses and taken to the river. This work was dangerous and often meant death to many of the horses. If the logs were not loaded properly they would shift and roll on top of the horses. Skidding was also dangerous for horses having to travel over steep slopes to the collection site, logs would most often outrun the horses. To prevent accidents on slopes one end of the log would be attached to the horse while at the other end a cable was winched around a tree at the top of the hill. As the horse descended down the hill the log was slowly released from above. This took a great amount of time until the introduction of skidders. Once logs where brought to the collection site, they were transported to the mill by river or road.

Pole and plank roads where built, allowing for lumber transportation out of the forested area to distant sawmills. Horses where used to haul logs on a sleigh called a slideass, which where hauled down a pole road. Pole Roads where constructed out of logs approximately 6-10 feet apart. These poles where greased with oil in order for the slideass to move smoothly down the track. Men who maintained this job where often refered to as "grease monkeys".

P996.3.48
Logging at Shelley on pole roads. Loading a slideass with horses, 1926.

Plank roads where later built after the introduction of the logging truck. These where similar to the pole roads, however boards where nailed down on top of the poles allowing trucks to have a smooth surface to drive on. In the summer, logging trails were muddy and the plank roads allowed for trucks to travel with ease. These roads where not permanent and once one area had been harvested, workers would pack up the road and move it to the next location.

P982.56.40
A loaded logging truck on a plank road, Newlands, B.C.

Rivers were another effective way of transporting the logs. During the winter, logs were piled at a landing area until the river thawed. Once the river had thawed, loggers would push the logs into the river where they would be boomed down to the mill site. Floating logs down the river was not easy, log jams and accidents were always around the next corner. Fin Booms where built to direct logs around obstacles such as sand bars, in the river. These where constructed of logs tied together with rope and anchored down to a cement block at the bottom of the river. This device was called a "fin boom" due to the planks of wood inserted in the logs. The adjustable planks acted as "fins" at the right place in the current to guide the logs in a certain direction in the river, to reach the mill site.

P986.35.36
Men working on a log boom.

During the boom season, loggers would become "river rats" for the summer. These men patrolled the booms and adjusted the fins when need be. They also kept an eye on logjams and other barriers that may be in the way. Accidents or even death was a negative aspect of this job as men would often fall into the river trying to clear logjams. To keep a steady flow of the logs river rats used peaveys to move the logs along the river. Peaveys where wooden tools made with steel spikes and hooks on the end to roll the logs.

The introduction of the steam engine marked huge changes in the logging industry. The type of steam engine used in logging was the steam donkey. This form of equipment replaced horse teams used to haul large loads of logs from the forest to the landing area. The steam donkey consisted of a steam boiler and engine that connected to a winch. This was then connected to a donkey sled. The donkey moved by dragging itself with a winch line. They were use for transporting fallen trees to a processing area and also for dragging the logs to the river. By the 1930's gas powered machines where replacing the steam donkey and by the 1950's they were fazed out all together.

P991.1.124
Man standing beside steam donkey in front of stack of logs.

Log Transportation Assignment

Choose 1 topic below to report on.

  1. Choose one technological change that allowed for the easy removal of logs from the forest and write a 500 to 700 word essay on the topic. Include pictures and diagrams.
    1. Steam engine
    2. Gas
  2. Choose a technique used to transport logs and write a 500 to 700 word essay describing the importance, uses, construction, benefits and drawbacks of the system. Include pictures and diagrams.
    1. Plank Road
    2. Pole Road
    3. Horses
    4. Rivers
    5. Skidding

Photographic History of Prince George
| Milltown to Downtown | Settlers' Effects |

Opening New Caledonia | Project Credits | Contact Us | Feedback |
©2004 The Exploration Place at the Fraser-Fort George Regional Museum

This site is financed in part by the federal government; your opinion counts!
What do you think of this site?

L'essor de la Nouvelle-Calédonie - L'essor de la Nouvelle-Calédonie - Plans de leçon - Transport des billes de bois
L'essor de la Nouvelle-CalédonieAccueilEnglish
Liens de navigationLiens de navigation
« A History of Prince George », par le révérend Runnalls
Journal et correspondance de L.C. Gunn
Cartes de Prince George
Documents de la Northwood
Cartes de Northwood
Bulletins de Direction des forêts (de 1950 à 1958)
Collection forestière de Blake Dickens
Image d'entretoise
Recherche
Aperçu
Avis Importants
Carte du site
Chronique
Plans de leçon
Glossaire
Image d'entretoise
Explorez
CB_BG

Plans de leçon
Transport des billes de bois



Transport des billes de bois

Groupe cible

  • 11e et 12e année

Thème principal

Avant l'arrivée du moteur à vapeur, le transport des billes de bois était assuré par les hommes et les animaux. On utilisait des techniques variées pour traîner les billes jusqu'à l'aire de chargement ou jusqu'au bord d'une rivière, afin qu'elles soient transportées dans les scieries locales.

Matières visées

  • Français langue première 11 et 12
  • Sciences humaines 11
  • Histoire 12

Objectifs

Les élèves seront en mesure de décrire :

  • les différentes techniques utilisées pour couper et transporter les billes;
  • l'importance des cours d'eau;
  • les différents métiers du domaine de l'exploitation forestière.

Notes à l'intention du personnel enseignant

Aucune connaissance préalable sur le transport des billes n'est nécessaire pour enseigner cette unité.

Matériel

  • Document Le transport des billes de bois
  • Document Essai sur le transport des billes
  • Document Discussion de groupe à partir d'une photo
  • Crayons/stylos

Vocabulaire

Treuil de débardage à vapeur
Machine à vapeur qui actionnait un treuil et qu'on appelait steam donkey en anglais.
Draveur
Homme qui contrôlait les estacades sur la rivière.
Estacade
Longues poutres disposées en chapelets et reliées par des chaînes qui servaient de dérive pour diriger les billes sur l'eau.
Route de rondins
Chemin construit à partir de rondins pour acheminer les billes.
Résine
Produit collant et visqueux sécrété par les conifères tels que le pin.
Route de planches
Chemin construit à partir de rondins mis bout à bout et de planches.
Bûcheron
Homme qui abat les arbres.
Tronçonneur
Homme qui équarrit les troncs.

Déroulement

  1. Divisez la classe en groupes de trois ou quatre élèves et distribuez à chacun des groupesle document Discussion de groupe à partir d'une photo.
    1. Allouez 10 minutes pour que chaque groupe analyse les différentes idées suscitées par la photo.
  2. Après 10 minutes, demandez à un membre de chaque groupe de présenter les résultats de l'analyse.
  3. Une fois cet exercice fini, distribuez à chaque élève le document Le transport des billes de bois.
    1. Demandez à chaque élève de prendre connaissance du document.
  4. Demandez ensuite à toute la classe si les idées suscitées par la photo ont changé après lecture du document.
    1. Si oui, de quelle manière?
    2. Quelles nouvelles informations peuvent-ils ajouter en observant la photo?
  5. Animez une discussion avec le groupe-classe sur les techniques de transport de billes qui leur semblent les plus efficaces. Demandez-leur de justifier leur opinion.
  6. Demandez aux élèves d'écrire un essai de minimum 500 mots sur l'une des deux questions au choix dans le document Essai sur le transport des billes.

Ressources

Bernsohn, Ken. Cutting up the North. Vancouver: Hancock House Publishers, 1983.

The Exploration Place. www.theexplorationplace.com

Discussion de groupe à partir d'une photo

P996.3.84

Les preuves matérielles des premières exploitations forestières en Colombie-Britannique ont pratiquement disparues. On peut trouver aujourd'hui quelques piles de sciure de bois en décomposition ou, encore, quelques vestiges d'anciens chemins forestiers témoignant de l'existence, jadis, d'exploitations ou de scieries mobiles. En remontant le cours du temps, nous pouvons comprendre l'influence de la technologie sur l'industrie du bois. Avant l'arrivée de la machine à vapeur, des treuils, des débusqueuses et des camions forestiers (ou grumiers), l'exploitation forestière reposait uniquement sur le travail manuel. En ce temps-là, les opérations à effectuer étaient excessivement dangereuses, longues et ardues. En raison du manque de technologie, de main-d'oeuvre et d'argent, il fallait beaucoup de temps pour couper, ébrancher, transporter et transformer un arbre. Toutes les différentes étapes de l'exploitation étaient accomplies manuellement avec pour toute aide des scies à main, des chevaux, des traîneaux et les cours d'eau.

La coupe du bois a commencé le long des rivières et les gros troncs d'arbre coupés, ou billes de bois, pouvaient être flottés jusqu'à la scierie. Quand tous les arbres en bordure de rivière étaient abattus, l'exploitation forestière devait s'effectuer plus à l'intérieur dans les terres. Pour transporter les billes de la forêt jusqu'à la rivière et finalement à la scierie, on a adopté différentes techniques.

Vers la fin des années 1800, les hommes abattaient les arbres à la main à l'aide de haches et de scies manuelles, dont la scie à tronçonner. Celle-ci était suffisamment grande pour couper les arbres les plus imposants. Manipulée par deux hommes, cette scie existait en différents modèles et formes. Son nom venait de son utilisation : elle pouvait couper le tronc perpendiculairement au fil du bois, tandis que la scie en long ou la scie à refendre étaient utilisées pour couper le tronc en long dans le sens du fil pour en faire du bois d'oeuvre. Un problème courant quand on abattait un arbre à la scie était la présence d'une grande quantité de résine dans la base (le fût) de l'arbre. Pour l'éviter, les bûcherons inséraient des planches larges dans une entaille faite dans l'arbre à environ 5 pieds du sol. Les hommes s'installaient debout sur la planche et pouvaient ainsi éviter la résine et couper l'arbre avec plus de facilité. Malgré cette technique, on pouvait toujours trouver de la résine dans le tronc; il fallait alors verser du kérosène sur la scie pour éviter que la résine colle à la lame. Quelques gouttes suffisaient pour dissoudre la résine et permettre aux hommes de continuer à abattre l'arbre.

En raison de la grande taille des arbres, les bûcherons devaient travailler à deux pour les abattre. Ils utilisaient des techniques variées pour l'abattage. Ils devaient prévoir de façon exacte l'endroit où l'arbre tomberait afin d'éviter de blesser les autres bûcherons aux alentours. Quand l'arbre commençait à vaciller, le moment était dangereux pour tous. Très souvent, les branches supérieures se cassaient et tombaient sur les hommes en dessous. De nombreux bûcherons sont ainsi morts en raison d'un manque de précaution. L'exclamation anglaise Timber!, qui veut dire « Attention! Prenez garde! », vient de cette époque-là. Les bûcherons l'utilisaient pour avertir tout le monde de se mettre à l'abri parce qu'un arbre était sur le point de tomber.


Deux hommes tronçonnant des troncs avec une scie à tronçonner au bord du lac.

Après l'abattage de l'arbre, les tronçonneurs équarrissaient et enlevaient l'écorce du tronc pour les traverses de chemins de fer. Au printemps et à l'été, l'écorçage était plus facile parce que la sève circulait dans le bois. Le tronçonnage était le travail d'un seul homme. Une fois tronçonnées, les billes étaient alors préparées pour le débardage ou transport du bois hors de l'aire de coupe. Les branches étaient coupées et les extrémités étaient effilées. Cette technique évitait que les billes ne s'accrochent à d'autres arbres ou à des rochers quand on les traînait à travers la forêt.


Cuisine, salle à manger, dortoir et bureau du camp forestier no 2 à Horseshoe Hill sur la route vers Shelley.

Les hommes faisaient leur apprentissage aux côtés des bûcherons plus expérimentés. McConaghy avait dit, à ce sujet : « Si vous êtes frappé par un rebond de souche d'un arbre, vous apprenez très vite à distinguer ce qu'il faut faire de ce qu'il faut éviter. » Il y avait beaucoup d'avantages à apprendre les techniques avec des personnes plus expérimentées; si vous étiez un bon travailleur, les autres travaillaient avec vous au lieu de travailler contre vous et de vous rendre la vie difficile. On récompensait le travail bien fait et les hommes cherchaient à s'améliorer en sachant que cela leur serait profitable. Par exemple, les élingueurs, ceux qui attachaient les billes à l'arrière de la débusqueuse, étaient très cotés. Les excellents élingueurs avaient le droit de sortir de la forêt juchés sur la débusqueuse au lieu de rentrer à pied.

Pour transporter les billes tronçonnées et ébranchées de la forêt à la scierie, on avait recours à deux techniques bien précises. En premier, il fallait transporter les billes jusqu'à une aire de chargement et, ensuite, jusqu'à la scierie. L'aire de chargement était généralement assez proche tandis que la scierie était éloignée. Pour acheminer les billes hors de la forêt, il fallait utiliser des chevaux de trait. Ces puissants chevaux tiraient les troncs à l'aide d'une corde jusqu'à une clairière. Là, les billes étaient empilées sur un grand chariot (de la taille d'un petit appartement) qui était ensuite tiré par les chevaux jusqu'à la rivière. Ce travail était très dangereux et de nombreux chevaux en sont morts. En effet, si les billes n'étaient pas bien attachées, elles pouvaient se déplacer et s'écraser sur les chevaux. Le traînage aussi était dangereux, dans la mesure où les chevaux devaient descendre des chemins en pente raide et les billes, emportées par leurs poids, pouvaient dévaler sur eux. Pour prévenir ce genre d'accident, une extrémité du chargement était attachée au cheval, tandis que, à l'autre extrémité, on fixait un câble qu'on enroulait autour d'un arbre en haut de la pente. Au fur et à mesure que le cheval descendait, on relâchait doucement le chargement d'en haut. Jusqu'à l'arrivée du treuil mécanique, on avait recours à cette méthode qui prenait beaucoup de temps. Une fois les billes arrivées à l'aire de chargement, elles étaient acheminées vers la scierie par voie terrestre ou par flottage sur la rivière.

P996.3.48
Transport des billes à Shelley sur des routes de rondins. Chargement sur le traîneau tiré par des chevaux, 1926.

Pour transporter les billes de la forêt à la lointaine scierie, on construisait des routes de rondins et des routes de planches. Les chevaux tiraient des traîneaux sur lesquels on avait entassé les billes. Les traîneaux glissaient sur des routes de rondins qui étaient construites avec des troncs disposés parallèlement à environ 6 à 10 pieds d'écart. Les rondins étaient graissés avec de l'huile pour permettre un bon glissement du traîneau sur les routes. Les hommes chargés de cette tâche étaient communément appelés les grease monkeys en anglais, ou graisseurs.

P982.56.40
Un camion forestier chargé sur une route de planches, Newlands, C.-B.

Les routes de planches sont apparues plus tard avec l'arrivée des camions forestiers. Le principe de ces routes était sensiblement le même que pour les routes de rondins, cependant on clouait des planches sur les rondins, pour permettre aux camions de rouler sur une surface lisse. Pendant l'été, les sentiers forestiers étaient boueux. Grâce aux routes de planches, les camions pouvaient malgré tout circuler. Ces routes n'étaient pas permanentes : lorsque l'abattage était fini dans une zone, les travailleurs démontaient la route et transportaient le matériel dans la nouvelle zone d'exploitation.

P986.35.36
Hommes travaillant sur une estacade

Les rivières jouaient aussi un rôle très important dans le transport des billes. Pendant l'hiver, les billes étaient entassées sur l'aire de chargement jusqu'à la débâcle. Dès que la rivière était dégelée, les bûcherons jetaient les billes dans l'eau pour les faire flotter jusqu'à la scierie. Le flottage du bois n'était pas un travail facile. Les billes pouvaient être bloquées (embâcle) dans un endroit et les accidents étaient toujours possibles. Des estacades étaient construites pour écarter les billes d'obstacles tels que les bancs de sable. Les estacades consistaient en un chapelet de troncs d'arbre reliés par des cordes et ancrés sur un bloc de ciment situé au fond de la rivière. Entre les troncs, on insérait des planches ajustables qui servaient de dérive et permettaient de guider les billes flottant jusqu'à la scierie.

Pendant l'été, qui était la saison du flottage, les bûcherons se transformaient en draveurs (en anglais on utilisait les termes river rat et raftmen). Ils surveillaient les billes et ajustaient les estacades au besoin. Ils faisaient particulièrement attention aussi à tout obstacle pouvant provoquer un amoncellement de billes (embâcle). Pour assurer un flottage régulier, les draveurs utilisaient des tourne-billes, longues perches de bois munies d'une pointe et d'un crochet, qui leur permettaient d'agripper et de faire pivoter les billes. L'arrivée du moteur à vapeur a apporté de grands changements dans l'industrie du bois. Le type de machine à vapeur utilisée dans l'exploitation forestière s'appelait le treuil de débardage à vapeur. Cette machine a remplacé les chevaux pour le transport des grosses charges de billes de la forêt à l'aire de chargement. Elle consistait en une chaudière qui alimentait un moteur connecté à un treuil, lui-même relié à une carriole. La carriole avançait par elle-même à l'aide du treuil. La machine à vapeur était utilisée pour transporter les billes de l'aire de coupe à l'aire de chargement et, finalement, à la rivière. Aux alentours de 1930, les machines avec moteurs à essence ont remplacé les machines à vapeur. à leur tour, elles devaient complètement disparaître au cours des années 1950.

P991.1.124
Hommes travaillant sur une estacade. Homme debout à côté d'un treuil de débardage à vapeur devant une pile de billes.

Essai sur le transport des billes

Rédige un essai sur un des sujets au choix.

  1. Choisis un changement technologique qui a facilité le transport des billes de la forêt jusqu'à l'aire de chargement. Rédige un essai de 500 à 700 mots sur ce sujet en ajoutant des illustrations et des schémas.
    1. Le moteur à vapeur
    2. L'essence
  2. Choisis un moyen utilisé pour le transport des billes et rédige un essai d'environ 500 à 700 mots en décrivant l'importance, les utilisations, la construction, les avantages et inconvénients du système choisi. Ajoute des illustrations et des schémas.
    1. Les routes de planches
    2. Les routes de rondins
    3. Les chevaux
    4. Les rivières
    5. Le traînage

Histoire photographique de Prince George
| Du village à la ville | Sur les traces des pionniers |

L'essor de la Nouvelle-Calédonie | Crédits de projet | Contactez nous | Réactions |
©2004 The Exploration Place at the Fraser-Fort George Regional Museum

Ce site est financé en partie par le gouvernement fédéral; votre opinion compte!
Que pensez-vous de ce site?